The Ancestors’ Geneameme

Just for fun, prompted from the blog Geniaus.  Here’s “The Ancestors’ Geneameme”

KEY:
Things you have already done or found: bold face type
Things you would like to do or find: italicize (color optional)
Things you haven’t done or found and don’t care to: plain type

Extra comments and details are in brackets.

Which of these apply to you?

  1. Can name my 16 great-great-grandparents: no, but I can name 15 of them! 
  2. Can name over 50 direct ancestors
  3. Have photographs or portraits of my 8 great-grandparents (I have photos of 5: Elizabeth Murphy, Charles Robert Duncan, Cametta Marie Hutchinson, John William Updegraff, and Valentin Stossier.  Missing: Maria Pröll, Juliana Rauscher, and Kilian Pirolt.
  4. Have an ancestor who was married more than three times (I don’t think so)
  5. Have an ancestor who was a bigamist (I hope not!)
  6. Met all four of my grandparents (Unfortunately no, Grandma Kate: Katherine Murphy-Updegraff and Opa: Johann Pirolt passed before I was born)
  7. Met one or more of my great-grandparents (Yes!  My dear Nana- Elizabeth Murphy)
  8. Named a child after an ancestor (No children, but if that time ever comes I’ll definitely consider a family name)
  9. Bear an ancestor’s given name/s (Yes!  I’m named after Grandma Kate)
  10. Have an ancestor from Great Britain or Ireland (lots!)
  11. Have an ancestor from Asia
  12. Have an ancestor from Continental Europe (lots!)
  13. Have an ancestor from Africa
  14. Have an ancestor who was an agricultural labourer (lots!)
  15. Have an ancestor who had large land holdings (The Hutchison family owned and farmed large amounts of land in Indiana, Pennsylvania and Butler, Pennsylvania in the early 1800’s)
  16. Have an ancestor who was a holy man – minister, priest, rabbi
  17. Have an ancestor who was a midwife (I don’t think so, but I wouldn’t be surprised)
  18. Have an ancestor who was an author
  19. Have an ancestor with the surname Smith, Murphy or Jones
  20. Have an ancestor with the surname Wong, Kim, Suzuki or Ng
  21. Have an ancestor with a surname beginning with X
  22. Have an ancestor with a forename beginnining with Z (Supposedly my 8th great grandmother is Zerviah Stanley, born in England and died in Portsmouth, New Hampshire)
  23. Have an ancestor born on 25th December
  24. Have an ancestor born on New Year’s Day
  25. Have blue blood in your family lines (I doubt it and don’t really care)
  26. Have a parent who was born in a country different from my country of birth (My Dad was born in Austria)
  27. Have a grandparent who was born in a country different from my country of birth (Both of my paternal grandparents were born in Austria)
  28. Can trace a direct family line back to the eighteenth century (The Hutchison line is my most sourced line going back to the American Revolution)
  29. Can trace a direct family line back to the seventeenth century or earlier (I do, but not much of it is sourced so I don’t think it counts just yet)
  30. Have seen copies of the signatures of some of my great-grandparents (yes, thanks to draft records)
  31. Have ancestors who signed their marriage certificate with an X
  32. Have a grandparent or earlier ancestor who went to university
  33. Have an ancestor who was convicted of a criminal offense
  34. Have an ancestor who was a victim of crime (???)
  35. Have shared an ancestor’s story online or in a magazine (https://katiesgrove.wordpress.com)
  36. Have published a family history online or in print 
  37. Have visited an ancestor’s home from the 19th or earlier centuries (Yes, in 1850 the Pirolt family moved into a home that had been built around 1500.  It remained in the Pirolt family until 2002.  It’s since been declared an historical site by the Austrian government)  
  38. Still have an ancestor’s home from the 19th or earlier centuries in the family (Unfortunately not, see #37)
  39. Have a family bible from the 19th Century (no, but that would certainly be great!)
  40. Have a pre-19th century family bible

1 Response

  1. Thanks, Katie, for joining the Ancestors’ Geneameme challenge.

    How fortunate you are to have had a family home declared an historic site by the Austrian government.

Leave a comment